Search the Catalog
   
   

Borrowing Guidelines


Your computerized McKinley Memorial Library Card is valuable.
IT MUST BE PRESENTED IN ORDER TO BORROW LIBRARY MATERIALS.

What You Need to Know

Privacy Law & Policy

How many can items can I check out?

How long can you have it?

Can you have it longer?

Can I place a hold on an item?

What if you owe?

What if I change my name or address?

What if I lose my card?

What if you know someone who is unable to visit the library?

 

 

 

What You Need to Know

At the time of application for a library card, you may check out any four (4) items that circulate,
providing you have valid identification with your current address printed on it (e.g., driver's license,
utility bill, check).

Parents and guardians may grant permission for their children, under the age of 18, unrestricted
borrowing privileges of video-formatted materials including, but not limited to, DVDs. If your child
has a McKinley Memorial Library card, a form will be given to you as his/her parent and/or guardian
to sign granting or denying this borrowing privilege.

Reading materials may be returned in the BOOK DROP.
DVD's/Blu-Rays, CDs, audio books, and CD-ROMs may be returned in the AUDIO-VISUAL DROP.

Library card borrowing privileges will be suspended if you have items overdue or if you owe fines
and/or fees over $5.00.

Back to top

 

 

Privacy Law & Policy

In accordance with the Ohio State Privacy Law and McKinley Memorial Library Policy, your designated viewer MUST be listed on your Library account and he/she MUST have your Library card in order to pick up your reserved items or to pay your fines.

In accordance with the Ohio State Privacy Law, we are not permitted to discuss the following issues over the phone with you…only in person:

  • Stating the titles of the items that have arrived for you
  • Giving or changing your P.I.N. (your 4-digit password used to log in to your CLEVNET account)

Once you log in to your CLEVNET account, you are able to view what you have requested, what has arrived, change your password/P.I.N., and many other things!

Back to top

 

How many items can I check out?

Although there is no limit of books you may check out at one time, there is a limit of three (3) items
per family regarding any one subject.

Each type or category of Audiovisual material:

1 Video Game per person
2 Playaway Views per household
15 DVDs/Blu-Rays each, Adult, Children, and Non-fiction
15 Audio books
15 Music CDs
                

Back to top


 

How long can you have it?

All materials circulate for 14 days EXCEPT for the following:

Entertainment DVD's, Video Games, Playaway Views.....7 days

Loan Periods, renewals and fines follow the policies of the lending libraries.
Please refer to circulation receipts for due dates.

Back to top


 

Can you have it longer?

Circulating items can be renewed if no one else has placed a reserve on the item. 
Most items can be renewed up to 3 times, provided there is no reserve on the item. 

Playaway Views CANNOT be renewed.
 

Renewals may be done over the phone or online through our online catalog at
http://mckinley.bibliocommons.com/, OR the items may be brought into the library.
You must have your library card.
 

If a book or audiovisual item you want is checked out, you may request to have the  item
placed on reserve either in person, by phone or through our online catalog at:
http://mckinley.bibliocommons.com/

Back to top

 


 

Can I place a hold on an item?

Holds are permitted on all Library materials, except Video Games and Playaway Views.

They may be placed in person, via telephone, or online.

Holds must be picked up within five (5) days.

Back to top

 


 

What if you owe?

Beginning Wednesday, November 14, 2012, you now have the option to pay your fines ONLINE using a PayPal account, a credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover), or debit card with the Visa, MasterCard, or Discover logo. Login to your Bibliocommons account to pay.


The overdue charge is 10¢ per day EXCEPT FOR,

DVDs/Blu-Rays ....... $1.00 per day

Video Games .......... $1.00 per day

Playaway Views....... $1.00 per day


If your account becomes 42 days past due, you will be referred to a collection agency. 
In addition to your outstanding library account balance, a $15 fee will be attached to recover
collection costs.

Seniors and disabled patrons are exempt from the 10¢ per day overdue fine, but will be charged
the Audio Visual fines listed above.

Fees are charged for items that are returned damaged.

Back to top

 

 

What if I change my name or address?

Please inform the library of a change of name or address as soon as possible. Be sure to bring
identification to verify your changes.

Back to top

 

 

What if I lose my card?

Report a lost card immediately so that you will be protected.

The charge to replace a lost card is $1.50.

Back to top

 


 

What if you know someone who is unable to visit the library?

Library materials are available to homebound residents and those institutions in the communities
served by McKinley Memorial Library. Please contact the Warren-Trumbull County Library at 
330-399-8807, ext.118 for details.

Back to top

 

Last Updated on Monday, 04 March 2013 21:57
Copyright @2012 McKinley Memorial Library - All Rights Reserved